Week 6: Reflection

It’s been an interesting week to view other peoples’ view on coding.  I know there is a national push to teach coding in school, and I am adamant about making this a reality.  There are so many positive learning benefits to teach coding in school.  My personal experience with coding in high school has affected me positively.  I have learned how to problem solve, be creative, be patient, and debug.  These skills are valuable beyond the skill of coding.  To those people that think coding is for future programmers only have tunnel vision.  My response to those people is to ask why do we teach arts and crafts in school?  Are we developing future artists, sculptors, painters, and photographers?  No.  They are avenues for creativity and expression.  Coding can fill this as well.

During our Twitter session this week, I had the chance to learn that one of my classmates taught coding in school (not by choice), but it was great to learn that coding is taught as a separate subject.  With our declining funding resources, the possibility of teaching a coding class is remote, but we need to be creative in integrating coding with various subject areas.  I challenge you to find a subject area that doesn’t have a coding application.  As a math teacher, I have not given much thought to using a graphing calculator to teach coding.  Sure, I have written programs and downloaded programs that run on calculators, but have not made a concerted effort to incorporate coding in my math class.  One of my other classmates’ only coding experience has been on a graphing calculator.  I thought that was awesome!  Another stated they give extra credit to those students that write code that can be used in math class.  That’s great.  I want to begin to use my classroom set of graphing calculators in this new endeavor of teaching coding in my class.

With many tech devices being utilized in classrooms these days, it would be great for some students to become interested in writing programs, or developing apps, or create games.  Don’t be a “user”, be a “creator”.  I’m sure there are individuals that think the game they just played, or the app they just used are not perfect end products.  Instead of complaining, write a more challenging game or useful app.  The way to do this is to code…

Leave a Reply

