Week 6 Reflection

After reading other classmate’s blogs this week, I noticed that we share the gamer type Explorer.  But I also noticed that their Socializer score were higher than mine, which was my lowest in the four categories.  I also noticed that my Griefer score was second highest, and was low for others in my class.

One of the key concepts this week was to identify gamer types, and how to design multi-player games based on these types.  Despite other classmates’ opinion that these types do not reflect their personal interactions with real people, I think they do to some extent.  I may not agree with classifying gamer types to just 4, but other researchers have classified gamers into 9 categories.  I believe gamers should not only be classified by personality types, but why they play games too.  It’s the combination that is important to identify how to designing games.

I question the importance of multi-player games we studied this week.  I understand the idea is to develop a gamified class at the end of this course, but you can’t ignore the single player game factor.  As an example, I do not like to play multi-player video games.  I would play a two-player game that is head-to-head against someone else, but would not play a multi-player game.  If I feel this way, I’m sure there are students that would feel this way as well.  As we develop a gamified class, we need take into account students’ unwillingness to participate in a multi-player game.

It was interesting to notice that other classmates did not research single-player game design.  Maybe I am too old to remember that about 100% of video games were single player.  If it was a two-player game, the second player only played after the first player was “killed.”  They did not play at the same time.  In time, two-player game design started becoming popular, but the majority were single-player. As I ponder on these points, I am realizing that one of the reasons for the increase of multi-player game design that is common these days is due to the fact that hardware and graphics have improved.  Limiting factors in any video game are memory, graphics card, and most importantly computer processor.

I hope we don’t ever forget the importance of people wanting to play single-player games, and not multi-player.

One thought on “Week 6 Reflection

  1. I appreciate your insight about MUD’s, and how they apply to our current understanding of gamification. Similarly, I do not play multi-player games and I find them uninteresting. I think that the gamer personality quiz was only geared toward those who play MUD’s, which in my opinion is a small portion of the gamers in the world. However, I do think that it’s important to take into account certain gamer personalities when considering a gamified classroom. Thank you for sharing the bit about the 9 classifications of gamer types.

    Like

Leave a Reply

