Week 5 Reflection

What are your thought about “learning in the collective”?

I really liked Larissa’s blog this week, especially the video she shared.  I think that this idea of “connected learning” is more relevent than the idea of a “collective”.  The video she posted has valid points for this type of learning, especially in our tech world.  Students can research anything.  Well, as long as they have internet access.

I can appreciate the view points people had about the topic this week, but I still have some reservations about people’s interpretation of a collective.  For example, Tristan said that she could choose who she wanted to learn from in the collective.  Maybe I misinterpreted her statement, but I don’t think that’s how a collective works.  In our reading, it is a collective when everyone participates.  If you are participating in a learning collective, you will learn from everyone!  Not just the ones that interest you.  Maybe it’s just my personal opinion, but I have interests in several areas other than teaching. 🙂 I like juggling, unicycling, archery, playing music, and watching movies.  I would consider myself in those “collectives”.  I learn from many jugglers online, on television, through performances, and other avenues, and at the same time I participate in juggling myself.  That is a collective.  I don’t just learn about ball juggling, or club juggling.  There are many types of juggling.  I may not juggle that form, but I know about it.  Like there is contact juggling (ball manipulation with clear acrylic spheres), hoop juggling, boomerang juggling, ring juggling, comedy juggling, bounce juggling, dangerous types such as knife juggling, chainsaw juggling, or fire juggling.  I don’t want to list them all, but there are more!

My concept of a “collective” is not just what I am interested in , “in the collective”, I learn about all the different aspects of that collective.  Maybe I fixate in my interests.  If want to learn about something, I want to learn as much as I can about it.  I’ve commented before about math colleagues asking for help on graphing calculator troubleshooting.  If we are going to use a tool in our teaching, we should at least know how to use, troubleshoot, and expand our knowledge about it?  Shouldn’t we?  FYI, TI graphing calculators have operating systems, and they get updated, just like computer system OS’s like Mac or Windows.  I would bet only 1% of teachers that use these tools know this.  This is learning from the collective.  Not just research some things that interest you in the “collective”…

 

Leave a Reply

