Week 13: What is my Philosophy of Adaptation?

This week I will try to compile my philosophy of adaptation, which is really a fancy way of stating how I will adapt to change as a teacher, leader, and how to assist students in adapting to change.  There is continuous talk about how our education system is in need of change, or an overhaul.  I happened to view a commercial about an online virtual school on television a few days ago, and it reminded me of how some people want a different educational experience than the one that has existed for decades.  This is just one example of a proposed change.  Others have suggested charter schools, home schools, military youth academies, private schools, religous schools, and magnet schools.  These are some examples of reactions of the need for change in our school system as a whole.

I think these strategies are not the answer to what is ailing our public school system.  Although these different types of schools may have some benefits and provide a good fit to specific students, I don’t think it provides the answer to why we need to change education.  I found a nice article that addresses four key questions to educational change written by Willard R. Daggett, Ed.D. and Richard D. Jones, Ph.D. titled The Process of Change, Why Change, What to Do, and How to Do It.  It provides some great strategies to embrace change the right way, and not just react to disappointing results or situations.

I need to come up with some “vision” statement about change, but can’t get myself to create something clever and catchy.  I am a proponent and practioner of being concise and brief, and most of my communications reflect that.  Get to the point, fast.  For now, my vision statement is more of a key phrase than anything.  It’s not new.  “Adapt or Die”  It might seem overused, old fashioned, and a sad cliche, but I suppose I am one of those individuals that really believes that “they don’t make them like they used to”, and it is a straight to the point statement that needs explanation, which my paper will expound on.  I also want to incorporate another short phrase, “Murphy’s Law”.  I think the combination of these two overused phrases will be the building blocks of my philosophy of adaptation.

I will also reference and discuss works of Michael Fullan and others that have researched education change for decades.  Change theory is important to study to understand change and implement change.  I will discuss some of these aspects as well in my paper.  Leadership will be discussed, as well as how we need to develop a moral purpose that will be the glue that holds us all together through thick and thin, hard times and slow times, and never be extinguished.

These are the components of what my philosophy will entail.  The details are not set yet, but the framework is somewhat described.  It will take some deep thought and reflection to come up with a philosphy, but I hope these ideas will be the basis of it.

2 thoughts on “Week 13: What is my Philosophy of Adaptation?

  1. I like the statement “adapt or die.” In science we learn this to be what happens. Adaptations help us survive, and if we don’t adapt we will not be able to survive.

    I also like how you talk about how the educational system needs and overhaul. I think this is a great connection and something that almost everyone can relate to. We know that the current educational system is not working for every student. The idea has been to just create different types of schools. I agree that this is working for some students but is not really the change that will fix the educational system.

    Like

  2. I like that part of your vision is centered around “Murphy’s Law”. A few weeks ago, I was trying to use Chromebooks in my classroom in all of my classes to see how it would go being a paperless classroom for a day. Let’s just say, it wasn’t good. No sooner had students started logging into their Chromebooks, the school lost Wi-Fi connectivity. An entire day planned in the cloud quickly turned into an interrupted class period where I had to quick make photocopies of things I had assured myself the day before I wouldn’t need. Sometimes I feel like it’s “one step forward, two steps back” when I try using more technology and changing what I do in the classroom. I think “Murphy’s Law” fits into change perfectly. I need to make sure that I’m prepared for everything to go wrong during change, because usually, in one way or another, it does.

    Like

Leave a Reply

