Week 13 Reflection

What is my Philosophy of Adaptation?

It was interesting to read other people’s thoughts on their philosophy.  I like Jim’s concise phrases that would describe his philosophy, “Improvise, Adapt, and Overcome”.   I feel the same way, but in a more blunt fashion, “Adapt, or Die.” Like I stated in my blog, my communication is not long-winded and I don’t beat around the bush.  I suppose this gets me in trouble at times. (not in an education setting, but in a personal setting.)  I also liked how Sarah pointed out that there are times she feels things don’t go as planned, and I totally agree.  That is precisely why I mentioned “Murphy’s Law” in my original blog.  It was nice to read someone elses honest opinion about how they feel their plans don’t go as planned!  I really wanted more people to comment on my ideas, but only one did, so I don’t have much feedback on how to proceed.  I suppose this is okay since it’s an open assignment.  There shouldn’t be a “correct” response because it’s a personal feeling and mindset.

I will proceed to lay out my points of interest.  I will state what I think my moral purpose is, integrate technology ideals for education, and discuss generally about change theory.  I don’t know if I want to proceed with a mathematics education mindset as I have initially indicated.  I am excited for the chance to teach a high school programming class this fall and I get to see students that want to be in an elective class, as opposed to have to take a mathematics class!  As it stands, mathematics education need to change for sure, but career and technical education is where it’s at, and I would hope teachers in general have the same feeling that it’s important for students to take these CTE courses in high school to better prepare them for careers right out of high school, or at least better prepared them for post-secondary career training.

Not everyone is going to a 4-year college or university, and it was very apparent in a new study of Alaska graduates of 2005 that less than half attend college, and by 2015 37% actually graduated.  Not very good statistics.  I know there was another study done on the performance of recently graduated high school students in Alaska that indicated the need for them to take remedial math courses to proceed with their degree plans in college.  I do think there is some truth to the study.  I see these same students in the high school classroom, and they do struggle.  I’m not surprised to see them have to take remedial courses, but there was some indication that math is a “gatekeeper” not a “gateway” to attaining a college degree.  I don’t remember the specific studies, but I have read these in the past few years.  (see reference below)

I am off on a tangent, again, but I will focus on some important points in my philosophy paper due soon!

References:

https://www.adn.com/alaska-news/education/2017/04/16/heres-what-happened-to-alaskas-class-of-2005-according-to-a-new-state-study/

http://www.chronicle.com/article/Make-Math-a-Gateway-Not-a/65056

http://relnw.educationnorthwest.org/events/changing-developmental-math-gatekeeper-bridge

Leave a Reply

