Week 4: What literature will inform your research?

As I searched for literature to give me some perspective on the topic of technology use in math education the way I interpreted it, I began to realize that there has been quite a bit of research done over the years in this area.  Technology has been existent for decades (centuries?) in many forms in such things as basic electronic calculators, scientific calculators, graphing calculators, advanced graphing calculators, computers, and currently, the list of technology available is almost limitless.  It has been a little difficult to pin point the areas that have been researched that would relate to my active research project, but I feel I have come up with a good list of literature to review and be able to discuss.  They range from experiments, to quasi-experiments, to qualitative research, quantitative research, and mixed methods.  As I read them, I may add to my literature review because of other sources, or I may disregard some sources.  The list, at this point, is pretty comprehensive to what I think is relevant to my own research goal.  Towards the end of the list are some citations that review gamification, which I believe is vital to my research endeavor because I would like to incorporate some game elements to my research.

Here is the list of my literature.

Erin E. Krupa, Corey Webel & Jason McManus (2015) Undergraduate Students’ Knowledge of Algebra: Evaluating the Impact of Computer-based and Traditional Learning Environments, PRIMUS, 25:1, 13-30, DOI: 10.1080/10511970.2014.897660

Thomas J. Gross & Gary Duhon (2013) Evaluation of Computer-Assisted Instruction for Math Accuracy Intervention, Journal of Applied School Psychology, 29:3, 246-261,DOI: 10.1080/15377903.2013.810127

Xinhao Xu & Fengfeng Ke (2016) Designing a Virtual-Reality-Based, Gamelike Math Learning Environment, American Journal of Distance Education, 30:1, 27-38, DOI:10.1080/08923647.2016.1119621

Vogel, J. J., A. Greenwood-Ericksen, J. Cannon-Bowers, and C. A. Bowers. 2006. Using virtual reality with and without gaming attributes for academic achievement. Journal of Research on Technology in Education 39 (1):105–18. doi:10.1080/15391523.2006.10782475

Kiger, Derick; Herro, Dani; Prunti, Deb (2012). Examining the Influence of a Mobile Learning Intervention on Third Grade Math Achievement. Journal of Research on Technology in Education. Fall 2012, Vol. 45 Issue 1, p61-82.

Bottge, Brian; Ma, Xin; Gassaway, Linda; Toland, Michael; Butler, Mark; Cho, Sun-Choo (2014) Effects of Blended Instructional Models on Math Performance. Exceptional Children. Vol 80, No. 4, p. 423-437

Estapa, Anne; Nadolny, Larysa (2015) The Effect of an Augmented Reality Enhanced Mathematics Lesson on Student Achievement and Motivation. Journal of STEM Education: Innovations and Research. Vol. 16, Issue 3, p. 40-48

Zengin, Yilmaz (2017) Investigating the Use of the Khan Academy and Mathematics Software with a Flipped Classroom Approach in Mathematics Teaching. Journal of Educational Technology and Society. Vol. 20 Issue 2, p. 89-100.

Hedgedus, Stephan; Dalton, Sara; Tapper, John (2015) The impact of technology-enhanced curriculum on learning advanced algebra in US high school classrooms. Educational Technology Research and Development. Vol. 63, Issue 2, p. 203-228.

Kanive, Rebecca; Nelson, Peter; Burns, Matthew; Ysseldyke, James (2014) Comparison of the Effects of Computer-Based Practice and Conceptual Understanding Interventions on Mathematics Fact Retention and Generalization. Journal of Educational Research. Vol. 107 Issue 2, p. 83-89.

Wilder, Sandra; Berry, Lisa (2016) Emporium Model: The Key to Content Retention in Secondary Math Courses. Journal of Educators Online. Vol. 13, No. 2, p. 53-75

David L, (2016)”Gamification in Education,” in Learning Theories, https://www.learning-theories.com/gamification-in-education.html.

Yang, Yi (2014) Three Questions to Ask Before You Embark on Gamification. eLearn Magazine. Retrieved from http://elearnmag.acm.org/archive.cfm?aid=2686999

 

4 thoughts on “Week 4: What literature will inform your research?

  1. What a fun topic for your research project. I have a personal connection to the topic of technology and math because math has always been the subject that I have struggled with the most. While taking classes like this one I wonder if I was in school now if the use of technology would help me perform better during a math class. I think the use of technology during math may help a lot of students find it more enjoyable.

    Like

  2. Gerald,
    I always appreciate that you continue to find ways to improve your world of Teaching Math. Math is definitely tied into today’s world of technology. The great instructor features in todays math programs are so useful with being able to streamline posting testing and the auto scoring for immediate feedback. I think it is a great project that you are working.

    Josie

    Like

  3. After reading through your resources, I realized that the program I want to work with and utilize for my action research has gamification in it. I added a few articles into my own research on gamification. Did you take the Gamification class from Lee? The book Teach Like a Pirate has a great way to lay out a class.

    Like

    • I did take the gamification class. Awesome content. The only game mechanic I could not come to embrace was ‘story’. Not all games have a story, or should have one, but I believe the other mechanics and elements have their place in games.

      Like

Leave a comment